Economic Development Authority (EDA)

The Economic Development Authority (EDA) was established on January 26, 2012.  The EDA was created to coordinate and administer economic development and redevelopment plans and programs of the City of Elko New Market.

The establishment of the EDA is consistent with the City's Vision of a diverse commercial base and facilitating redevelopment.  The EDA supports the goals of establishing economic development policies that will result in a more diverse tax base, create more local employment opportunities and promote additional businesses and services within the community.

The EDA consists of a governing body of five commissioners.  All commissioners are members of the City Council and serve as commissioners of the EDA for terms coinciding with their terms as members of the City Council.  In addition, the City Council may appoint one ex-officio commissioner who is a member of the Elko New Market Chamber of Commerce (“Chamber”) and nominated by the Chamber.  

Regular meetings of the Economic Development Authority are held on the fourth (4th) Thursday of January, April, July, and October at 6:00 p.m.