The City of Elko New Market has a Mayor-Council form of government with the Mayor elected to a two-year term and four council members elected to four-year terms. City elections are held in November of even numbered years (2022, 2024, 2026...).

The five-member City Council receives recommendations from four advisory boards/committees: 

  1. Planning Commission
  2. Parks Commission
  3. Economic Development Authority
  4. Community and Civic Events Committee (CCEC).


As the City continues to grow, more advisory committees, boards, and commissions may be created to address specific areas such as transportation planning, historic preservation, or public streets/utilities.

For more information, please click on any of the following local government links: